Illinois Fire Service Institute

 

Leadership Staff

Executive Team

Royal P Mortenson
Director
rpmort@illinois.edu
(217) 333-3800

James Keiken
Deputy Director
jkeiken@illinois.edu
(217) 300-4275

Brian Brauer
Associate Director of Infrastructure and Special Projects
brbrauer@illinois.edu
(217) 333-9027

Sheryl Ellenberger
Associate Director of Finance and Business Operations
ellenber@illinois.edu
(217) 300-5831

James Moore
Assistant Director of Leadership and Command Programs
jpmoore1@illinois.edu
(217) 300-3463

Thomas Shubert
Assistant Director for Firefighting Programs
tshubert@illinois.edu
(217) 244-8720

Heather Moore
Director of Special Operations Training Program
hmoore@illinois.edu
(217) 244-6790

Farzaneh Masoud
Director of Research
fmasoud2@illinois.edu
(217) 333-3800

Jill Sauer
Director of Marketing and Public Relations
jillks@illinois.edu
(217) 300-6036

Programs

FIREFIGHTING PROGRAM
Tom Scheu                                                                              Tal Prendergast
On-Campus Firefighting Program Assistant                            Driver/Operator Program Director
tscheu@illinois.edu                                                                 tprender@illinois.edu

Mark Clapp                                                                             Jake Hutchcraft
LP/Oil/Gas Program Manager                                                 Apparatus Driver Program Manager
clapp@illinois.edu                                                                   jrhutch@illinois.edu

Gary Coney                                                                             John McMann
Responder Intervention Team (RIT) Program Manager           Apparatus Operator Program Manager
sqd2agc@illinois.edu                                                              jcmann@illinois.edu

John High, Sr.                                                                          Mike Forrest
Investigation and Prevention Program Manager                      Vehicle/Machinery Program Manager
jhigh@illinois.edu                                                                    mforres@illinois.edu

Jim Duignan                                                                            Dave Newcomb
Truck Company Operations Program Manager                       Agriculture Program Manager
duignan@illinois.edu                                                               newcomb@illinois.edu

Sam Vega                                                                               Tom Richter
Engine Company Operations Program Manager                     Wildland Program Manager
sveg@illinois.edu                                                                    trichter@illinois.edu

Toby Jackson                                                                         Ben Kervin
Smoke Divers Program Manager                                            On Campus Light and Fight
tmjackso@illinois.edu                                                             kervinbp@illinois.edu

Mike McCastland                                                                   
Fire Attack and Suppression Techniques (FAST) Program Manager             
mccastla@illinois.edu

SPECIAL OPERATIONS TRAINING PROGRAM

Mike Woodard                                                                         Ryan Reynolds
Rope Rescue Program Manager                                             Confined Space Program Manager
mwoodard@illinois.edu                                                           rreynlds@illinois.edu

Chris Downey                                                                          Jon Hauge
Hazardous Materials Program Manager                                  Trench Rescue Program Manager
cjdowney@illinois.edu                                                             jhauge@illinois.edu

Heather Moore
Structural Collapse Program Manager
hmoore@illinois.edu

LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT AND COMMAND PROGRAMS

Lew Lake                                                                                 James Moore
Fire Officer Program Director                                                  First Responder Resiliency Project
Safety Officer Program Director                                              jpmoore1@illinois.edu
llake@illinois.edu

Wally Curtin                                                                             James Moore
Fire Service Instructor Program Manager                                National Fire Academy Program
curtin@illinois.edu                                                                  jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Bob Doty
National Incident Management System (NIMS) Program Manager
bdoty@illinois.edu

Paul Gardner
Leadership Development and Decision Making (LDDM) Program Manager
gardnerp@illinois.edu

ILLINI EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES

Ralph Kuchenbrod
IEMS Program Manager
ralphk@illinois.edu

Regional Representatives

Tim A Meister
East Central Illinois
(217)300.7344

James R Vaughn
Central Illinois
217.300.1809

Joshua T Bird
Southwest
217.300.9651

Ray Palczynski
Northwest and West
(217) 300-1805

Richard Stack
North Central Illinois
217.300.1814

Randall Schlichter
Northeast Illinois
(217) 300.1813

Dan Bracken
Cook County
217.244.6882

Ronnie Rains
Southern Illinois
217.300.4567

Departments

Tim Walsh
Director of Corporate Relations, Development, and Community Engagement
217.300.0717

Tommy E Cottrell
Technology Based Training (Online Learning)
217.300.3977

Library

Lian J Ruan
Head Librarian
(217) 265-6107

Diane Richardson
Reference and Training
(217) 333-8925

David S Ehrenhart
Assistant Director for Library Operations
(217) 333-3800

Research

Farzaneh Masoud
Director of Research
(217) 333-3800

Terry L Von Thaden
Research Scientist
(217) 244-8667

Gavin P Horn
Research Scientist
(217) 265-6563

Denise L Smith
Research Scientist
(217) 333-3800

Richard M Kesler
Research Scientist
(217) 300-6141

Information Technology

Tim E Lash
Manager of System Services
(217) 244-6910

John G Boyd
Network Administration Specialist
(217) 333-2163

Kevin Kessler
Research Programmer
(217) 265-9890

Priyanka Purtiply
Web Developer
(217) 300-8562

Curriculum and Testing

Kurtis W Glosser
Director
(217) 265-0582

Christopher G Venezia
Curriculum Support Specialist
(217) 244-7497

Michael E Manint
Curriculum Support Specialist
(217) 300-1842

Katrina Mann
Test Support Specialist
(217) 333-9505

Tracey L Johnson
Test Support Specialist
(217) 265-6451

International Programs

Lian J Ruan
International Programs Director
(217) 265-6107

Business Operations & Class Support

Business Operations

Sheryl B Ellenberger
Business and Finance Operations
(217) 300-5831

Kimberly S White
Grants
(217) 300-8240

Andre Nnoung
Research Grants
(217)300-3982

Beth A Niswonger
Accounting & Purchasing
(217) 244-6004

Keri Frederick
IFSI Human Resources
(217) 300-1575

Kathy A Mcbride
Travel and Office Supplies
(217) 333-9764

Kathy A Mcbride
TEM Receipts
(217) 333-9764

Kyle Loyd
P-Card/Foundation/HR Processing
(217) 244.6080

Class Support

Melanie Hall
Executive Assistant/Administrative Aide
Class Support Operations
(217) 300-3641

Greg Brannan
Class Support Associate
(217) 300-3170

Lynn Gilles
Class Support Specialist
(217) 300-8486

Kathy Bott
Class Support Specialist
(217) 300-6382

 
Address
11 Gerty Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820
Driving Directions
Contact Us
E-mail: fsi@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-3800
            (800) 437-5819
Fax: (217) 244-6790
Library
E-mail: fsi-library@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-8925
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Social Media
        

You are encouraged to use this site for individual educational purposes only; however copy and/or reprinting of any materials and photographs without authorization is strictly prohibited. Please obtain permission by contacting fsi@illinois.edu

© 2020 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois