Illinois Fire Service Institute


Library Advisory Committee: Northern Region

Current Members

Edmund J. Enright
IFSI Field Staff
District Chief, Chicago Fire Department (retired)

Jim Grady III
IFSI Field Staff
Chief, Frankfort Fire Protection District

Lew Lake (Chair, 2013-present)
IFSI Field Staff
Battalion Chief, Wheaton Fire Department

Scott Nacheman
IFSI Field Staff
Senior Associate, Thornton Tomasetti

Raymond Palczynski
IFSI Field Staff
IFSI Regional Representative - Northwest & West Region
Davenport Fire Department

Randy Schlichter
IFSI Field Staff
IFSI Regional Representative - Northern Region

Dan Smits
IFSI Field Staff
Deputy Chief, Crete Fire Department

Richard Stack
IFSI Field Staff
IFSI Regional Representative - Chicago Area & North Central Region
Chicago Fire Department

Peter Van Dorpe
Chicago Fire Academy
Battalion Chief, Chicago Fire Department

Former Members

Andrew Arndt
Great Lakes Fire Department

Thomas Dempsey
Chicago Fire Department

Richard Edgeworth
Director of Training
Chicago Fire Department

Bill Riddle (Chair, 2002-2005)
Sycamore Fire Department

Marty Schoonover
EMT Coordinator
Rockford Fire Department

Tom Styczynski
Deputy Chief
Garden Homes Fire Protection District

11 Gerty Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820
Driving Directions
Contact Us
Phone: (217) 333-3800
            (800) 437-5819
Fax: (217) 244-6790
Phone: (217) 333-8925
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Social Media

You are encouraged to use this site for individual educational purposes only; however copy and/or reprinting of any materials and photographs without authorization is strictly prohibited. Please obtain permission by contacting

© 2018 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois