Illinois Fire Service Institute

 

Advanced Fire Officer Blended / NFPA 1021 - Fire Officer II : 120 Hours

Course Description

The Advanced Fire Officer course is designed to provide the Fire Officer, at the supervisory/managerial level, who oversees multiple fire companies or stations, with information and skills required for success. The Advanced Fire Officer course is compliant with NFPA 1021 - Standard for Fire Officer Professional Qualifications as it provides training and education in the requisite areas of Human Resource Management, Community and Government Relations, Administration, Inspections and Investigations, Emergency Service Delivery, along with Health and Safety. This course satisfies the course completion component for Office of the State Fire Marshal Certification as Advanced Fire Officer.

 

This program is delivered via a blended learning concept utilizing traditional classroom and on-line teaching elements. Each Phase must be taken consecutively and attendance is mandatory.

  • Orientation Session (In-Class, 8 Hours)  to ensure the students understands the on-line learning management system and expectations of the program. (First date listed)
  • Phase 1: On-line learning, self-directed 40 hours of education completed over 4 consecutive weeks. (Second dates listed)
  • Phase 2:  Traditional in-classroom learning and practical applications, 80 hours of education. (Third and fourth dates listed)

Syllabus

  Syllabus - Advanced Fire Officer.pdf

This course is part of the following Programs

  • e-learning
  • officer

Prerequisites:

IFSI prerequisites are based on Illinois and NFPA standards. Equivalencies from other agencies will be reviewed upon request.


If you have specific questions about this course contact LEWIS LAKE

If you are interested in having this course taught in your area, contact LEWIS LAKE or your regional representative.

If you are not sure who your regional representative is, take a look at this map. It is color coded by county.

Upcoming Classes

Click on the city name for more details and registration options


carbondale Fri, Dec 13 2019 -
Mon, Dec 16 2019
(Phase 2 – Week 1: Traditional in-classroom learning and practical applications, 40 hours of education.)

Fri, Jan 10 2020 -
Mon, Jan 13 2020
(Phase 2 – Week 2: Traditional in-classroom learning and practical applications, 40 hours of education.)

glen carbon Mon, Jan 6 2020 -
Mon, Jan 6 2020
(Orientation Session (In-Class, 8 Hours) to ensure the students understands the on-line learning management system and expectations of the program.)

Tue, Jan 7 2020 -
Sun, Feb 2 2020
(Phase 1: On-line learning, self-directed 40 hours of education completed over 4 consecutive weeks.)

Mon, Feb 3 2020 -
Fri, Feb 7 2020
(Phase 2 – Week 1: Traditional in-classroom learning and practical applications, 40 hours of education.)

Mon, Feb 17 2020 -
Fri, Feb 21 2020
(Phase 2 – Week 2: Traditional in-classroom learning and practical applications, 40 hours of education.)

west chicago Wed, Apr 1 2020 -
Wed, Apr 1 2020
(Orientation Session (In-Class, 8 Hours) to ensure the students understands the on-line learning management system and expectations of the program.)

Thu, Apr 2 2020 -
Sun, May 3 2020
(Phase 1: On-line learning, self-directed 40 hours of education completed over 4 consecutive weeks.)

Mon, May 4 2020 -
Fri, May 8 2020
(Phase 2 – Week 1: Traditional in-classroom learning and practical applications, 40 hours of education.)

Mon, May 18 2020 -
Fri, May 22 2020
(Phase 2 – Week 2: Traditional in-classroom learning and practical applications, 40 hours of education.)

orland park Mon, Aug 24 2020 -
Mon, Aug 24 2020
(Orientation Session (In-Class, 8 Hours) to ensure the students understands the on-line learning management system and expectations of the program.)

Tue, Aug 25 2020 -
Sun, Sep 27 2020
(Phase 1: On-line learning, self-directed 40 hours of education completed over 4 consecutive weeks.)

Mon, Sep 28 2020 -
Fri, Oct 2 2020
(Phase 2 – Week 1: Traditional in-classroom learning and practical applications, 40 hours of education.)

Mon, Oct 12 2020 -
Fri, Oct 16 2020
(Phase 2 – Week 2: Traditional in-classroom learning and practical applications, 40 hours of education.)

champaign Mon, Sep 21 2020 -
Mon, Sep 21 2020

Tue, Sep 22 2020 -
Sun, Oct 25 2020

Mon, Oct 26 2020 -
Fri, Oct 30 2020

Mon, Nov 9 2020 -
Fri, Nov 13 2020

Applicable Credits

NFPA
Standard Number 1021
Edition 2014
OSFM Certification
Equivalency Advanced Fire Officer
 
Address
11 Gerty Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820
Driving Directions
Contact Us
E-mail: fsi@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-3800
            (800) 437-5819
Fax: (217) 244-6790
Library
E-mail: fsi-library@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-8925
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Social Media
        

You are encouraged to use this site for individual educational purposes only; however copy and/or reprinting of any materials and photographs without authorization is strictly prohibited. Please obtain permission by contacting fsi@illinois.edu

© 2019 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois