Illinois Fire Service Institute

 

Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations : 40 Hours

Course Description

This course provides to those who are or will be operating as a member of a fire department, law enforcement agency, EMS agency, emergency management agency, or other first responder agency, the basic skills needed to evaluate and work defensively at an incident involving the release of hazardous materials.  The objectives of the course are to teach participants: basic hazards and risk-assessment techniques for Hazmat and CBRNE environments; selecting and using proper personal protective equipment provided to the first responder at the Operations level; performing basic control, containment and/or confinement operations within the capabilities of the resources and personal protective equipment available; an understanding of the types of CBRNE and WMD events that may be presented to the first responder; and an understanding of the relevant standard operating guidelines and termination procedures.


This course is part of the following Program

  • hazardous materials

Prerequisites:

There are no prerequisites to taking this course


If you have specific questions about this course contact CHRISTOPHER DOWNEY

If you are interested in having this course taught in your area, contact CHRISTOPHER DOWNEY or your regional representative.

If you are not sure who your regional representative is, take a look at this map. It is color coded by county.

Upcoming Classes

Click on the city name for more details and registration options


tamms Sat, Mar 30 2019 -
Sun, Mar 31 2019

Sat, Apr 6 2019 -
Sun, Apr 7 2019

cherry valley Sat, Apr 6 2019 -
Sun, Apr 7 2019

Sat, Apr 13 2019 -
Sun, Apr 14 2019

orland park Mon, Apr 22 2019 -
Fri, Apr 26 2019

western springs Sat, Apr 27 2019 -
Sun, Apr 28 2019

Sat, May 4 2019 -
Sun, May 5 2019

yorkville Sat, Jun 1 2019 -
Sun, Jun 2 2019

Sat, Jun 8 2019 -
Sun, Jun 9 2019

forsyth Sat, Jun 8 2019 -
Sun, Jun 9 2019

Sat, Jun 15 2019 -
Sun, Jun 16 2019

salem Sat, Oct 12 2019 -
Sun, Oct 13 2019

Sat, Oct 19 2019 -
Sun, Oct 20 2019

champaign Mon, Nov 11 2019 -
Fri, Nov 15 2019

 
Address
11 Gerty Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820
Driving Directions
Contact Us
E-mail: fsi@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-3800
            (800) 437-5819
Fax: (217) 244-6790
Library
E-mail: fsi-library@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-8925
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Social Media
        

You are encouraged to use this site for individual educational purposes only; however copy and/or reprinting of any materials and photographs without authorization is strictly prohibited. Please obtain permission by contacting fsi@illinois.edu

© 2019 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois