Illinois Fire Service Institute


Dr. Gavin Horn is a recipient of the 2017 Chancellor’s Academic Professional Excellence Award.

Dr. Gavin Horn, Director of Research at the Illinois Fire Service Institute – Urbana/Champaign (IFSI), is a recipient of the 2017 Chancellor’s Academic Professional Excellence Award.  Dr. Horn will receive the honor at a reception hosted by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Chancellor Robert J. Jones on April 6. Dr. Horn is among seven honorees for this prestigious award.


“We nominated Gavin because of his ongoing contributions to the fire service and particularly for the work he has done to advance health and safety of firefighters on the fireground,” IFSI Director Royal Mortenson said. Horn has led the research team at IFSI since 2004 and works closely with other academic departments, national organizations and fire departments across the U.S. Dr. Horn has conducted research in firefighter health and safety, material testing and design, and nondestructive evaluation. He is a member of the National Fire Protection Association’s Technical Committee on Special Operations Clothing & Equipment and the advisory board for UL’s Firefighter Safety Research Institute.


The Chancellor's Academic Professional Excellence Award is designed to recognize the importance of contributions made by academic professionals for our campus community and beyond.  They advise, counsel and assist students, faculty and staff.  They provide critical administrative support, support our research laboratories and educational programs, and offer important outreach programs throughout the state. Dr. Lian Ruan, Head Librarian for IFSI received the honor in 2003.

11 Gerty Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820
Driving Directions
Contact Us
Phone: (217) 333-3800
            (800) 437-5819
Fax: (217) 244-6790
Phone: (217) 333-8925
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Social Media

You are encouraged to use this site for individual educational purposes only; however copy and/or reprinting of any materials and photographs without authorization is strictly prohibited. Please obtain permission by contacting

© 2018 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois